ODETTE CAMP (1909-1979)

Biographical sketch, by Michel Solis

Odette Camp was born in Marseille on 19 March, 1909. Her Protestant parents, Victor Camp and Lucile Guilhon, moved to Paris in 1912. She loved the capital and chose to spend nearly all of her life there. After attending secondary school as a boarder at the Lycée Victor Duruy, during four years she studied at the Ecole Nationale des Arts Décoratifs and the Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts, as well as at the atelier of artist Jean Despujols.

 

In 1928, she married the young winner of music’s Grand Prix de Rome, Henri Tomasi. She was the composer-conductor’s most faithful associate; until his death separated them on 13 January 1971, her days were divided between his world of music and her art. While her primary focus was the vocation of the composer in her life, from 1930 on she regularly exhibited her own work.

 

Her earliest pieces were paintings shown under the pseudonym Otomasi. Her oils, rendered with the painter’s knife, were very colorful and descriptive images inspired by southern subjects such as Provence and Corsica. Her work was regularly exhibited at the Salon d’Automne, the Société des Amis du Louvre, the Indépendants, the Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts... and several of her paintings were purchased by the state and the city of Marseille, as well as by certain stars, including Jean Gabin. Before WWII, she had regular shows at La Galerie Carmine, Rue de Seine in Paris, along with artists belonging to the Ecole de Paris who have since become famous: Brayer, Douking, Othon Friesz, and Poliakoff. Her first one-woman show took place in Marseille in February 1942 at the Galerie Saint Fé.

 

In 1947, she reclaimed her original name, Odette Camp. This greater personal affirmation went hand in hand with a change in style - more freedom, less scholasticism - and a change in subject matter and ambience. Her paintings of this period centered on Paris and Brittany, in misty gray and marine tones reminiscent of Marquet. During this period, which lasted until 1955, in addition to designing the set of her husband’s opera L’Atlantide (in Vichy, then Lyon), she held several personal exhibitions in Paris which were very well received: Galerie Barbedienne, Avenue F. Roosevelt (1949), Galerie Serret, Rue du Faubourg St-Honoré (1952), Galerie Cazelles (1954), also Rue du Faubourg St-Honoré.

 

When a friend commented that her drawing ‘could be more sophisticated’, Odette Camp took it as a challenge. In 1958 a new show at the Galerie Michel, Quai St-Michel in Paris, featured as many sketches as paintings. From then on, her vocation as an artist revolved around her talent for illustration and drawing. The Galerie Motte, both in Paris in 1960 and in Geneva in 1966, established Camp as a master of India ink techniques and a precious witness of ‘Old Paris’. The author Thyde Monnier wrote a fine piece about her work at the time. Other subjects - Venice, Ibiza - were also portrayed in India ink, highlighted with the subtle colors of gouache.

 

Her art was to become darker with the years, her sketches of Paris relieved of any human presence, and her fascination with leafless trees, trunks, and roots would give rise to powerful, disturbing, and atypical forms. In 1962 and 1967, her work was present in group exhibitions at the Galerie Marcel Bernheim, Rue La Boétie. She also continued to participate in many venues such as the Société de l’Ecole Française (1961), Terres Latines (1962 to 1966), Le Club International Féminin (1965), Salon du Dessin et de la Peinture à l’eau (The Drawing and Watercolor Show, from 1965 to 1972), Comparaisons (1976). Again, several of her pieces were purchased by the state and the city of Paris. During her lifetime, her last two exhibitions were held in Café Procope (1975), and Cimaises Ventadour, one year before her demise on 4 August 1979 in her dearly beloved city: Paris.

 

Naturally, then, it was in the capital that two important Camp retrospectives were held. In 1981, the first, at the Galerie Hérouet, Rue des Francs-Bourgeois, presented the full collection of her graphic art. The second, ‘Paris disparu’, was held in 1983 at the Musée Carnavalet to mark the donation of a collection of forty sketches. A text by Carnavalet’s head curator, Bernard de Montgolfier, an article by Olivier Schmitt in Le Monde (24-07-1983), and another by Edmée Santy in Le Provençal (24-08-1983) all confirm that Odette Camp was, without a doubt, an entirely authentic artist. Far from trends and fashion, her timeless art makes her a singular and genial member of the Ecole de Paris.

2009, the hundred-year anniversary of Odette Camp’s birth, and thirtieth anniversary of her departure, gives us the perfect opportunity to rediscover the full scope and depth of this innovative artist’s admirable talent.

Odette Camp et Henri Tomasi Odette Camp et Henri Tomasi
Cassis, 1941

www.henri-tomasi.asso.fr

ODETTE CAMP (1909-1979)

Notice biographique, par Michel Solis

Odette Camp est née à Marseille le 19 mars 1909. Ses parents, d’origine protestante, Victor Camp et Lucile Guilhon, s’installèrent à Paris en 1912. Par amour de cette ville, elle y demeura toute sa vie. Après avoir fait ses études secondaires en internat au Lycée Victor Duruy, elle étudia quatre ans à l’Ecole Nationale des Arts Décoratifs et à l’Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts, ainsi qu’à l’atelier du peintre Jean Despujols.

En 1928, elle épouse un jeune Grand Prix de Rome de musique qui deviendra le compositeur et chef d’orchestre Henri Tomasi dont elle sera la fidèle collaboratrice. Jusqu’à la mort de celui-ci (le 13 janvier 1971), sa vie se partagea donc entre le monde musical et son propre travail artistique. Bien que dévouant d’abord sa vie à la carrière du compositeur, elle ne cessa d’exposer régulièrement à partir de 1930.

Ce fut d’abord en tant que peintre, et sous le pseudonyme de « Otomasi ». Ses peintures à l’huile, au couteau, très colorées, figuratives, étaient alors inspirées par des sujets méridionaux, Provence et Corse. Elle exposait régulièrement, au « Salon d’Automne », à la « Société des Amis du Louvre », aux « Indépendants », à la « Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts » et plusieurs de ses toiles furent acquises par l’Etat, la Ville de Marseille et même certaines personnalités, comme Jean Gabin. Avant la 2è guerre mondiale, elle est l’un des exposants de La Galerie Carmine, rue de Seine à Paris, en compagnie de peintres de l’Ecole de Paris devenus célèbres : Brayer, Douking, Othon Friesz, Poliakoff. Une 1 ère exposition personnelle eut lieu à Marseille en février 1942 à la Galerie Saint Fé.

En 1947, elle décida de reprendre son nom d’Odette Camp. Cette plus grande affirmation d’elle-même correspondit à un changement de style, plus libre, moins académique, ainsi qu’à des changement de sujets et d’ambiances : c’est Paris, la Bretagne, les « grisailles », les « marines » qui l’inspirent alors, et ses toiles font songer à Marquet. Durant cette période, qui dure jusqu’en 1955, outre des décors pour l’opéra de son mari « L’Atlantide » (à Vichy, puis Lyon), plusieurs expositions personnelles à Paris recueillent d’élogieuses critiques : Galerie Barbedienne, avenue F. Roosevelt (1949), Galerie Serret, rue du Faubourg St-Honoré (1952), Galerie Cazelles (1954), également rue du Faubourg St-Honoré.

La remarque d’un ami, « ton dessin n’est pas assez poussé », est aussitôt relevée par Odette Camp comme un défi, et en 1958, une nouvelle exposition parisienne, à la Galerie Michel, Quai St-Michel, rassemble autant de dessins que de peintures. C’est désormais en tant que dessinateur qu’elle va s’accomplir comme artiste. En 1960, la Galerie Motte, rue Bonaparte, puis à Genève en 1966, consacre son nouveau talent, révélant un maître de l’encre de Chine, en même temps qu’un témoin précieux du « Vieux Paris » ; l’écrivain Thyde Monnier en a témoigné dans un beau texte. D’autres sujets, Venise, Ibiza, sont traités à l’encre de Chine, mais rehaussés de gouache, se nuancent encore de couleurs.

Son œuvre va ensuite progressivement s’assombrir, ses dessins sur Paris être dépouillés de tout personnage, et sa fascination pour les arbres à nu, les souches, les racines, donner vie à des formes puissantes, angoissées, insolites. En 1962 et en 1967, elle est présente dans des expositions de groupe à la Galerie Marcel Bernheim, rue La Boétie. Elle continua également à participer à de nombreux salons : « Société de l’Ecole Française », (1961), « Terres Latines » (de 1962 à 1966), « Le Club International Féminin » (1965), « Salon du Dessin et de la Peinture à l’eau » (de 1965 à 1972), « Comparaisons » (1976), et plusieurs de ses œuvres furent à nouveau acquises par l’Etat et la Ville de Paris. De son vivant, ses deux dernières expositions individuelles eurent lieu au Café Procope (1975), et aux Cimaises Ventadour, un an avant sa disparition le 4 août 1979 dans sa ville de prédilection, Paris.

Aussi, est-ce dans la capitale que deux hommages importants lui ont été rendus, l’un en 1981, présentant l’ensemble de l’œuvre graphique à la Galerie Hérouet, rue des Francs-Bourgeois, et le second en 1983 au Musée Carnavalet, « Paris disparu », à l’occasion d’une donation de 40 dessins. Un texte du Conservateur en chef de ce musée, Bernard de Montgolfier, un article d’Olivier Schmitt dans le « Le Monde » (24-07-1983), un autre d’ Edmée Santy dans le « Le Provençal » (24-08-1983) ont donné acte qu’Odette Camp était une artiste authentique, à part entière. A l’écart des modes, son art intemporel du dessin en fait une figure singulière et attachante de l’Ecole de Paris.

L’année 2009, centenaire de la naissance d’Odette CAMP et trentième anniversaire de sa disparition, offre l’opportunité d’une meilleure, d’une juste appréciation de la valeur de son oeuvre.

 

 Odette Camp et Henri Tomasi Odette Camp et Henri Tomasi
Cassis, 1941

www.henri-tomasi.asso.fr